Just as the name implies, temporary profile pictures don’t stay permanently, it expires after a period of time. This feature was added to enable people to change their profile pictures only for a period of time before it disappears. Remember a profile picture is always public and after this expires it will still be accessible in your profile pictures album. Follow the guideline below to learn how it’s done.
How to add a temporary profile picture on Facebook
Read: How to back up Facebook photos