To deactivate your Pinterest account means to take a pause from Pinterest for a while and probably return later. Deactivation of a Pinterest account is quite different from deletion as a deleted account is one in which the profile is completely and permanently erased from the system whereas a deactivated account can be restored at a later time.
When you delete your Pinterest account, your personal data will be permanently deleted. Your profile and boards will also be removed from Pinterest and it won’t be possible to recover them. A deleted account is immediately deactivated and would be permanently deleted in 14 days to give you time in case you change your mind.
When you delete your account, any linked business account associated with that account will also be deleted. If you wish to keep your linked business account, you must unlink your business account before deleting your personal account unlike in deactivation which keeps your profile, business accounts, and boards invisible until you reactivate your account.
Note that after deactivating your account, your email address and username still remain tied to that account. You will not be able to create a new Pinterest account with that same email address or username. If you wish to free up an email address or a username that is tied to an existing Pinterest account, you should change the email address or delete the account permanently.
How to Deactivate Pinterest Account
To deactivate your Pinterest account, follow the steps below:
Log into your Pinterest account from the Pinterest app on your device or visit the Pinterest website.
Click the directional chevron down icon at the top-right corner to open your menu.
Click on “Account Management” from the left-side navigation.
Under Account changes, click Deactivate account.
Then click continue.
Select the reason why you’re leaving and then click “Deactivate account”.
To further confirm account deactivation, on the address bar, type www.pinterest.com/ “your username”. Do not log in to check if your account is still active as this will reactivate your account.