This blog post contains the details on how to file for child support in North Carolina. To make things easier for you, we have carefully outlined the step-by-step procedures to help you complete your application online.
There are basically two ways to begin a child support case in North Carolina. It is either in civil court or through criminal action. This can be done on your own, with a lawyer, or with the Division of Social Services (DSS).
A child support filling and case completion can sometimes take days or weeks from the time of filling. Afterward, they have 30 days upon service to file a written answer with the court. This deadline can be extended for an additional 30 days giving them 60 days before they even have to answer your complaint. In their response, your local trial court administrator has to calendar your case for a hearing.
In North Carolina, both parents must provide child support although it is only the non-custodial parent that actually makes payments. The custodial parent remains responsible for child support too, but the law assumes that this parent spends the required amount directly on the child.
How to File For Child Support in North Carolina
You can start and complete an online application for child support. Online applications are signed electronically and it is considered the legally binding equivalent of your handwritten signature. All signatures are captured at the end of the application prior to submission.
Below are the steps to take to file for child support in North Carolina
- You will be asked to register for an individual NCID (North Carolina Identity Management). This will allow you to gain access to the online application as well as other state services using your NCID and password.
- However, if you already have an NCID as an employee of a county or state child support agency in North Carolina, you will need to register for an individual (applicant) NCID to apply for child support services online.
- Provide an e-mail address to send automated messages and you must agree to receive these messages to apply for services online.
- The online application must be completed and submitted within 10 business days of when it is started.
- If you are applying through an agency, you will be required to pay a $25 non-refundable application fee to enable the processing of your application. The application fee must be a certified check or money order made payable to the specific county that you are requesting to handle your support case.
- The following documents are requested to be submitted along with your application:
Proof of your income, if you are the child(ren)’s parent (e.g. pay stubs, tax returns, etc.).
Copy of your photo ID (e.g. driver’s license).
Copy of each child’s state-issued birth certificate and social security card.
Photo of the child’s other parent (noncustodial parent from whom child support services are being requested).
Copy of marriage certificates; if not available, provide dates of marriage and/or other verification of the marital status of the children’s parents.
Affidavit of Parentage – a legal document signed voluntarily by both parents (either in the hospital or at any time after the birth of the child) that establishes paternity.
Paternity order (court order establishing paternity).
Child support and/or spousal support order(s) (all initial and modified orders).
An agreement signed voluntarily by the parents for child support.
Copy of the child(ren)’s parent’s marriage and/or divorce decree.
Order(s) terminating parental rights.
Domestic violence protective order(s).
Payment records of all support paid directly to the custodial parent or through a court